Angela Smith – Author Interview

Please welcome, Author Angela Smith. Before we get started on the interview, Angela’s Born on the Western Slope ebook is on sale at Amazon this month for $1.99.

Check out this romance novel and any 2012 & 2013 Crimson Romance ebooks also on sale for $1.99 all this month at Amazon – Kindle. Happy Valentine’s Day.

1) What genre(s) do you write in? Why?

I write romantic suspense, though I’ve dabbled in other types of writing such as YA and inspirational. Anything I write, even those works that will never see the light of day, always ends up with a twist of romance. I grew up reading the genre and I’ve always loved mystery and suspense. When I started working for a prosecutor’s office, I knew then that merely writing romance wasn’t enough for me, and thus began my addition of mystery and suspense.  I love romance, I love love, and I love watching people and helping people fall in love.  I might not be a huge romantic, but I love seeing people find that special zing with that special someone.

2) What/Who inspired you to start writing?

I can’t really say anyone inspired me to start writing, though I did have an aunt who wrote poetry who inspired me to get a notebook and write one summer when I was about ten years old. And I’ll never forget checking out a library book about writing when I was in high school (back in the day when there were check-out cards and you could tell who else had checked out the book) and saw my mother’s name . That was close to around the time I had lost her, and that was pretty inspirational to keep going. But I’ve always known I had to write.

3) Is there a book or two that you wrote and love that’s not published? If so, tell us more. Or tells us about your current WIP.

Yes, I have a few stories that I’ve written and never published, and some will never see the light of day. The book of my heart was published several years ago, but it’s no longer available, and I hope to republish that one in the near future. Burn on the Western Slope is available now, and the second in that series, Fatal Snag is my newest release, available March 17. Then the 3rd and final in that (standalone) series will be released soon after, tentatively titled Final Mend.  I’m always working on something, but usually more than one thing.

4) Who would play your characters in a movie?

What a fun question! But a tough one, because I usually know exactly what my characters look like and sometimes can’t place them with any actor. Sometimes I get my inspiration from actors, or people I see online or models in a magazine, but I’m a pretty visual person without having to look at pictures and I can see my characters perfectly in my head.  So, that being said, Chris Hemsworth could play Garret, but his brother, Chayton, would be hard to match. And many times I’ll see a lesser known actor/actress who would make a good match and then forget their names. So now I try to write down their names in my character books so I don’t forget them.

5) What writers/books inspired you?

As far as the genre I write, romantic suspense, I’d have to say Sandra Brown and Nora Roberts, because reading their books inspire me to write better and go beyond the normal.  Also, Heather Sellers in Page after Page and Stephen King’s On Writing are books I return to when I need writing inspiration.

6) When did you realize you wanted to be a writer?

I was about nine years old when I discovered I wanted to be a writer, although I’m pretty sure I knew at birth.  My mom read so much to me that I could recite books before I was able to read, and then she gave me romance novels with words I could barely pronounce, must less tell you the meaning. (I’ll never forget when I asked my older sister what seduce meant! And yet I didn’t end up damaged!)  I always thought I’d like to write but didn’t give it a try until I spent a week with my aunt, who wrote poetry.  She helped my sister and me pass the time with writing and told us it was okay if we just wanted to rewrite a movie that we loved and write it how we would want it to go.   Right about that time, I was diagnosed with diabetes, and writing helped me get through those first few years.  Writing was just something I knew I had to.

7) Any suggestions for would be writers?

Write, and write, and write some more. Finish the story. Find good people you trust who can help you critique and edit and brainstorm, etc. Learn all you can. Don’t give up. Ever.  And don’t listen to that voice in your head that says you can’t or shouldn’t do it.  Above all, write in a way that what works for you, not how others say you should do it.

8) What makes a good story to you?

I have to like the characters before I can fall for the story. Even if I hate the characters, I have to enjoy hating them.

9) Do you believe writers are born or made or both?

Both. I don’t necessary believe that if you weren’t born with the writing gift, you’ll never be a writer, but I do believe you could have been born with the desire to be a writer. Writing, just like anything else, is learned. No one is born to know how to paint or draw or perform martial arts, but they might have been born with the desire to learn. And you can only get better at anything you do with practice.

10) Besides getting published, what was your awe moment?

I try to find some awe in every single day! But I think seeing the Colorado Mountains for the first time in my life was an awe-inspiring and life changing moment for me.

Burn on the Western Slope by Angela Smith

Blurb:

Reagan McKinney is on a mission to discover more about a deceased uncle who mysteriously left her a sizable inheritance, a condo in the mountains, and a stash of stolen jewels. With both her graphic design career and her love life in shambles, the opportunity to begin a new life couldn’t have come at a better time. When she becomes involved with the sexy FBI agent next door, she finds her struggle is not only to keep her heart intact, but her life.

Grief stricken after an undercover investigation ends in the death of his partner, Special Agent Garret Chambers goes home to find solace in the arms of his mountain retreat. That is, until his boss assigns him to investigate the spirited brunette staying in the condo next door. He is assigned to investigate Reagan’s involvement with a large jewel fencing organization, but his investigation becomes compromised when his attraction to her heats up. Will his discovery destroy everything he has come to love, including Reagan?

Angela Smith CoverInformation about the book:

Title: Burn on the Western Slope

Author: Angela Smith

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Release Date: 15 July 2013

Publisher: Crimson Romance

Links and Short links:

Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/ dp/B00DL3ALDE

http://bit.ly/14ggWFh

Barnes and Noble:

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/burn-on-the-western-slope-angela-smith/1115916239?ean=9781440570353

http://bit.ly/1cFZQE8

Kobo Books:

http://www.kobobooks.com/ebook/Burn-on-the-Western-Slope/book-DzzRVGdYBE6J_DUxJQHPAg/page1.html

http://bit.ly/16rCDkC

iTunes:

https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/burn-on-the-western-slope/id665930023?mt=11

http://bit.ly/14zTtyN

Scribd:

http://www.scribd.com/doc/153493256/Burn-on-the-Western-Slope

Wait, there’s more:

Fatal Snag by Angela Smith

Fatal Snag Cover

Blurb:

Hollywood fashion consultant Naomi Fisher is happy to use her obsessive-compulsive planning to assist with her cousin’s wedding, but her history with the sexy and sullen Chayton Chambers, the groom’s brother, terrifies her. When the groom is kidnapped at his own wedding, Chayton and Naomi rush to find an important relic to satisfy the ransom before her cousin becomes a widow before a bride. Naomi trades garters for guns as survival, and love becomes a deadly game impossible to resist.

Information about the book:

Title: Fatal Snag

Author: Angela Smith

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Release Date: 17 March 2014

Excerpt:

Surprise flashed through his brain, but he narrowed his eyes before it had a chance to erupt on his face. He edged closer. In her heels, her nose usually touched his chin, but now the top of her head came under his chin. Her breath curled around his cheek, exerting an agitated pull on his hormones that left him shaky and hesitant. He camouflaged that hesitation with cockiness and confidence.

She inched her nose higher. He leaned down to look at her, his face a fingerbreadth from hers. “Maybe that’s your problem,” he grumbled. “Maybe you can’t get over the fact that I never tried to kiss you.”

He closed in on her, pinning her against the wall as he settled his hands on the wall near her head. She couldn’t move with him so near and he made a point to trap her.

He remained that way for several seconds, staring into blue eyes of defiance as they breathed in each other’s breath. His pulse hinged precariously close to plunging overboard and disrupting his steady poise, but for now he held on.

Then he kissed her. Hard. Briefly. Fervidly. Heat traversed from his toes, agitating his shaky thighs and roosting in his loins only to explode behind his eyes.

She deepened the kiss, a slight brush of her tongue against his. He held on another brief moment then dropped his hands and backed away before his point became futile. Swiping a hand across his mouth, he pinned her with a hard gaze. “Is that better?”

“I’m not here to ask your forgiveness.”

 

About the Author:

Angela Smith

During her senior year in high school, Angela Smith was dubbed most likely to write a novel, and that has been her dream ever since her mother read Brer Rabbit to her and her sister so often that they were able to recite it back to each other before actually learning to read. She’s always enjoyed stories about the adventure of love, and getting involved in the legal field developed her love of suspense. A certified paralegal, work gives her perfect fodder for her romantic suspense stories. When not caring for her small farm or spending time with her husband of two decades, she enjoys creating, reading, and dreaming of the places she’ll visit one day.

Angela Smith LOVES talking to readers. You can contact her in the following ways:

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/AuthorAngelaSmith

Twitter – https://twitter.com/angelaswriter

Goodreads – http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7173505.Angela_Smith

Website – http://www.loveisamystery.com

Email – angela@loveisamystery.com

Excerpt:

 “The snow’s great, the skiing is great. When are you going out to ski?” Garret asked.

Reagan fumbled with the button on her sweater. When Chayton set her drink on the bar, she tightened her hands around the glass to curb her jitters.

“I hate to admit it, but I don’t ski.”

“You don’t ski?”

“I mean, I never have.”

“You have to be tempted, right?”

“Uh, not really.”
This was where he’d leave. He would think she was crazy, boring, uninteresting, and he’d find someone more fitting to talk to. Only, he didn’t. He smiled, his eyes twinkling with interest. At least, she thought it was interest. It could have been pity, or mockery, or…

No. She cupped a hand over her cheek, as if that would soothe her insecurities. The cold condensation from the glass she’d held sent a chill between her shoulder blades.

“How long are you staying?”

“A month, at least.”

“Do you want to learn to ski? Because I’m a pretty good teacher. And Tanyon is a great place to learn. It’s busy, but not as busy as some of the bigger resort towns.”

“Oh, I don’t know.”

“Yes. You have to try it at least once. You’ll love it. Chayton can hook you up with gear.”

“Well, I’ve always had a secret desire to plunge down a twelve-thousand-foot drop.”

Garret’s eyes sparkled, like sunbeams skipping across the ocean and landing under her skin. But even sunbeams on a clear summer afternoon wouldn’t affect her like this.

“It’s not so bad,” he said. “We’ll start on the bunny slopes. Then, if you fall it’ll only be half that.”

“I’ve seen the size of these mountains and there’s not a bunny slope in three-hundred miles.”

“Sure there is.”

Reagan clamped her mouth over the straw and slurped the cocktail. It tasted divine, the sugary, minty flavor inciting sweet thoughts of Garret’s lips.

“I’m not sure I’m ready for that,” Reagan said, running her tongue over her lips as she rested her glass on the counter. “Skiing, that is,” she quickly added. He would never know she’d been thinking of kissing him, but she had to force herself to look away from his mouth. Nudging Naomi, she stood. “It’s time for me to go. I need to settle in. I haven’t even unpacked yet.” And she had no intention of doing so now, but it was a good excuse to leave. She wiped her hands on her jeans before extending her hand to his, praying hers weren’t clammy. “It was great to meet you.”

Garret grasped her proffered hand and nested his other on top, engulfing her hand. She burned. Everywhere. “Meet me on the slopes tomorrow?”

Reagan bit her lip and glanced at the floor. “Tomorrow? I don’t know. I might need a little more time to get used to this place.”

“We’ll start with sledding. You can’t not like sledding.”

She didn’t know, seeing as how she’d never done it, but cozying up to him at a hundred miles an hour would probably be amazing.

“I’m safe,” Garret said as he dropped his hand.

“You’re what?” she asked, meeting his eyes. Maybe he was a good guy in most people’s standards, but he made her heart beat too fast to be anything but dangerous.

“I’m harmless. Several people in town will vouch for me.”

“But I don’t know them either.”

2 comments on “Angela Smith – Author Interview

Please Leave a Reply

