Setting Goals by author Ashley Ladd

Setting Goals

By Ashley Ladd

I’m a disabled Air Force vet and the VA takes very good care of me. Recently, my VA doctor decided I should lose weight and get healthier, so much so he enrolled me in the VA’s MOVE weight loss and physical activity program. To help they gave me a scale and a pedometer to help me to achieve my goals.

Additionally, every evening about 7:05 pm as I’m watching the Big Bang Theory the VA’s computer calls me to give me a tinny-sounding mini lesson and pep talk, to ask me questions about my goals and progress, and to check my weight for the day. Being Thursday, the computer asked me if I met my weight loss and physical activity goals for this week and if I want a call from my care coordinator.

Sadly, I didn’t meet my goals for this week. My appetite (or was it depression? That’s another guest blog post) got the better of me and I focused on things other than physical activity. Now I have to refocus and rededicate myself to my weight loss program. I really do want to fit into a size 7 dress again, preferably before the end of the year.

We writers set goals all the time in our careers too—page count, editing, how many books we plan to submit a year, guest blogging, blog touring, guest appearances… I do it all the time.

Perhaps I set too lofty of goals at writing two thousand words every weekday and double that on weekend days. For awhile I was meeting if not exceeding my goals and I wrote five stories in about seven months.

Lately, however, I’ve been writing guest blogs and setting up blog tours instead of adding word count to my work in progress. In fact, this post is even a couple days tardy. Thus like my weight loss goals my writing goals proverbially jumped out the window. Obviously, I have to get back on track for MOVE and writing.

Unfortunately, it’s not easy (at least not easy for me) but necessary to redefine short term goals in order to meet long term goals. It’s simple to say we will stick to our goals but not so easy to follow through. There’s a little thing called life. For instance tomorrow is my youngest daughter’s birthday and we’re going to Universal Studios in Orlando for a couple days. Then Monday, my “vacation” is over and I must return to the day job.

So what is my long term writing goal? My goal for the end of 2014 is to finish my work in progress “Gaycation”. My one year goal is to finish at least two additional sixty thousand word stories before 2016. My life goal is to write (and have published) at least one hundred romance stories. Oh! And I mustn’t forget my goal of getting back into a size 7.

In my current release “Spooky Sojourn” new hotel manager Deanna Thompson has the goal of finding out who is sabotaging her hotel and making it look haunted. She wants to rid the hotel of the “ghosts” she doesn’t believe in. When someone tries to kill her, her goal morphs. Now her number one priority is to survive and find the would-be murderer.

Life presents us with many goals. What are yours?

 

spookysojourn_800Publisher: Totally Bound

Genre: Contemporary Erotic male-female contemporary paranormal romance

Blurb:

Someone’s trying to kill Deanna, but is it the ghosts she doesn’t believe in, the rich socialite who might be a murderess, or someone else with a beef against The Gilroy Hotel and Resort that Deanna has just been hired to manage?  The Gilroy’s owners want the ghosts, or whoever is causing the trouble at the hotel eliminated, and they are pressuring Deanna to do the job as quickly as possible. Harry DeVeaux, paranormal investigator comes highly recommended to do the job and against Deanna’s better judgment, she hires him.

Although Deanna thinks Harry’s crazy for believing in ghosts and Harry thinks Deanna has a closed mind to the possibilities of ghosts and they highly annoy each other, sparks fly. Deanna can’t help but fantasize about Harry and inspired by a romance convention visiting her hotel, writes her fantasies in a private blog that Harry finds, hacks, and reads. Ooh la la! 

Excerpt:

Drawing in a long, shuddering breath, he looked heavenwards and crossed his fingers behind his back hoping she wouldn’t throw something at him, hoping she’d be okay with his admission. “I found your blog and read it.”

Paling, the blood fled from her flesh and her eyes looked like sooty coals against her face. Her gaze clashed with his and held. “How did you find it? I used a pseudonym and I put it on privacy settings.”

He screwed up his lips, and scrubbed his hand over his face, preparing to tell more painful truths. “I’m a bit of a hacker and I like to research the people I’m working with.” Not sure she’d be receptive to his theory, he left out the part that he thought the ghosts led him to her sight. He thought they were closet romantics. He wouldn’t be surprised if they’d locked them into the room now to force them into some alone time together.

When a tsunami of emotions flitted across her face he tried to read them. Fury. Embarrassment. Lust?

“You investigated me? You read my private musings?”

“You wrote about me? In some very intimate ways. At least I presume it was me since you used my name.” He fixed her with a piercing gaze. “Did you?”

A pregnant pause rent the air as she veiled her eyes from his view. Finally, she smoothed her skirt against her legs and admitted, “Yes. I have very mixed feelings about you. You make me crazy the way we argue, the way you believe in ghosts, and yet I find myself thinking about you, fantasizing about you.”

Taking heart in the last part even if he wasn’t sure he liked the first, he said with a lopsided grin, “You fantasize about me much?”

As if she suddenly got bold, she sidled up to him with a mischievous twinkle in her eyes and ran the tip of her finger down his chest. “Aren’t my blogs proof? The question is, do you fantasize about me?”

 

Buy links:

https://www.totallybound.com/spooky-sojourn

 

Ashley Ladd bioAuthor Bio:

Ashley Ladd is a disabled Air Force vet that is hard of hearing but still loves language, especially the written word. She loves a sexy man, especially one with a military background and they’ll often pop up in her stories. She also loves cats and has been known to empower a cat with the gift of speech. Unfortunately he wouldn’t shut up. 🙂 She loves to plug into Pandora and sip Diet Coke while writing, usually with a cat or kid at her side.

 

How you can contact Ashley:

chinara@aol.com

http://www.ashleyladd.blogspot.com

https://www.facebook.com/ashleyladdauthor

http://www.twitter.com/ashleyladd

https://www.goodreads.com/AshleyLadd

http://www.shelfari.com/search/books?Keywords=Ashley%20Ladd

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=ashley%20ladd&sprefix=ashle%2Caps&rh=i%3Aaps%2Ck%3Aashley%20ladd

 

 

 

Please Leave a Reply

