The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones Movie Review

The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones
Movie Review

images

I just finished watching The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones.
I haven’t read the book yet.
I know, I know.

It’s on my TBR list and I would’ve read it sooner. However, when I saw they were making a movie, I decided to wait. After all, books are usually much better than the movie. If I enjoyed the movie, I know I’ll love the book.
Clary Fray (Lily Collins) begins doodling a strange symbol everywhere. Even in her sleep. She visits a club (which it is not clear to me why a guy who turns out to be a demon later convinces the bouncer to let her in when she asks what the symbol on the club’s sign is for). Later, she sees Jace Wayland (Jamie Campbell Bower) kill the guy/demon. With her scream, Jace looks up. He is a Shadowhunter and no human can see them.
Demons and goons come after her mother to get a sacred cup. Twists and turns made this movie an action-adventure scifi.
I will not relay all that happens in the movie, but parts of it do not make sense. Like where did the duplicate item come from? I’m curious to see how the book portrays things-especially the ending when they destroy/banish the bad guy Valentine Morgenstern (Jonathan Rhys Meyers).

 

I give this movie 3/5 stars. If I had read the book first, I’m sure it would be closer to 2/5. But there was enough interesting detail in the movie to have me crave reading the book.

There has been talk and delays about the second movie, City of Ashes. As of August 15, 2014 I could only find no set date for filming yet and that possibly, it will have a new director. I do hope they make the sequel, but incorporate the good from the first movie and rectify the issues.

Bio Pic 300x400Andrea R. Cooper writes fantasy, paranormal, historical and contemporary romance.
Her favorite childhood memories revolved around creating vibrant characters for her friends, and then acting out their adventures. Inside her fantasy worlds of darkened forests, dragon-filled glades, and iced islands, nothing was banned. From the ethereal Elvin to the most maligned Vampires, all were welcome in her fictional realities, a stark contrast to her home, where the magical and mythical was forbidden.
Divorced and disillusioned of love and believing all the love songs and books exaggerated, she put aside her creativity for life. Many years past before characters, from the familiar to the freshly conceived, came to her again, but this time teasing at a new passion, the written word.
Gradually, her real life hero brought love and magic back into existence. During the time when her characters were getting reacquainted, the love of her life was showing her that true love never gives up and rekindles no matter how many times others attempt to extinguish it. Today, she is happily married with three children.
Andrea believes in the power of change and delighting in each moment. But most fervently, she believes in the magic of love and imagination again.
website: http://www.andreacooperbooks.com
twitter: @andreaRcooper
newsletter: http://www.andreaRcooper.com

 

Please Leave a Reply

