YA Fantasy and Shifters? Yes, please

Here’s my sneak peek, a YA Fantasy I’m working on

( if I’m lucky will be published under my YA Author name, A.R. Cooper)

 

Legacy: Blood Shifters Book 1

I didn’t know I was a shifter until they found me.

The scents of greasy fries, burgers, and spicy nachos choked the air in the school cafeteria. The bell rang. Metal chairs scrapped across the linoleum floor as my fellow classmates finished their lunch. Time for my dreaded bio class. I hated it. No, I detested it with every molecule in my body. Bio was added as a requirement for my senior year. Yay, me. I could do without the dissecting and rancid smells. Even now as I scurried with the other kids out of the lunchroom, stuffing the last handful of fries into my mouth, I already smelled the embalming fluid.

“Beth!” My best friend, Jacqueline elbowed others to reach me. “See you after school?” We’d been friends since braces and training bras—even bought our first together when our moms ran into each other at the mall. Though, mine stayed small and hers grew three times their size over a summer.

Her straight teeth and blonde hair made her look like a movie star. I still looked like me: mousy brown hair, bizarre eyes that changed colors depending on my mood and what I wore.

I had a mouthful of fries, but nodded and gave a thumb’s up. A guy walked into my book bag as I fought to hold the cafeteria door from slamming into me as a horde of fellow students shoved past me. Geesh. How the school expected us to get to our lockers, pee, and get to a class on the other side of campus in less than four minutes never made sense to me. Heaven forbid if you turned the wrong way.

Inside the crowded bio classroom, I scrambled to my spot in the back of the classroom by the only window. In my rush, I knocked my desk with my hip, sending it onto its side. Everyone burst into laughter. I hurried to pick it up, and the thing squeaked like a dying mouse. More chuckles. Glad I could amuse everyone. Maybe I should change my college major from math to comic. Right.

 

Son-of-Dragons-Book-2-Legends-of-Oblivion_128 Banner

 

 

 

 

Andrea R. Cooper writes fantasy, paranormal, historical and contemporary romance.

Her favorBio Pic 300x400ite childhood memories revolved around creating vibrant characters for her friends, and then acting out their adventures. Inside her fantasy worlds of darkened forests, dragon-filled glades, and iced islands, nothing was banned. From the ethereal Elvin to the most maligned Vampires, all were welcome in her fictional realities, a stark contrast to her home, where the magical and mythical was forbidden.

Divorced and disillusioned of love and believing all the love songs and books exaggerated, she put aside her creativity for life. Many years past before characters, from the familiar to the freshly conceived, came to her again, but this time teasing at a new passion, the written word.

Gradually, her real life hero brought love and magic back into existence. During the time when her characters were getting reacquainted, the love of her life was showing her that true love never gives up and rekindles no matter how many times others attempt to extinguish it. Today, she is happily married with three children.

Andrea believes in the power of change and delighting in each moment. But most fervently, she believes in the magic of love and imagination again.

website: www.andreacooperbooks.com

twitter: @andreaRcooper

newsletter: www.andreaRcooper.com

Please Leave a Reply

