G is for Gorgon

G is for Gorgon

images (20)

If you are at all familiar with this name and/or image, you probably think it’s Medusa.

And you’d be right.

Or at least 1/3 right.

There were three Gorgons according to myth and Medusa was only one of them. The Gorgons were three sisters. Medusa was the only mortal, but her sisters: Stheno and Euryale, were immortal.  All three had living snakes for hair and their faces were so hideous they turned people to stone. However, Stheno and Euryale were born Gorgons, while Medusa was turned into one by Athena when she was raped  by Poseidon in Athena’s temple.

The Gorgons are sometimes portrayed as having wings.

Their image was also used as a form of protection and to “avert the dark forces of evil”. 1

 

Bibliography 

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gorgon

1 http://www.pantheon.org/articles/g/gorgons.html

http://www.greekmythology.com/Myths/Creatures/Gorgons/gorgons.html

 

 

4 comments on “G is for Gorgon

  1. don’t you just love how athena didn’t get angry at poseidon for defiling her temple. poor medusa didn’t do anything wrong and she was punished. grr!

    • True. However, in some texts, Medusa isn’t raped, but is claims to be more beautiful than Athena and then is cursed. The first story is the more traditional and reflects the attitudes of the time, and sadly some still feel that way today.

  2. First off I want to say wonderful blog! I had a quick
    question in which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.
    I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your mind before writing.
    I have had a difficult time clearing my thoughts in
    getting my thoughts out there. I truly do enjoy writing but it just seems
    like the first 10 to 15 minutes tend to be lost simply just trying to figure out how to begin.

    Any suggestions or tips? Kudos!

    • Seo,
      I usually think about what I’m going to write before I sit down. Or, daydream a scene or talk aloud to myself while cleaning the house about the story. This usually helps me sit down and write. I try not to stress about the first few paragraphs because I know it can take a bit to get warmed up and I can change those later.

Please Leave a Reply

