2014 Our Writing Process Blog Hop

INTRODUCTION:  Writer’s write, that’s what we do.

writing-clipart1

 

Find out why and how in this new Blog Hop for 2014:

* * * *

I have found the hardest part about writing a book, for me, and having it published, is not the writing and publishing, it’s the marketing. Is there a fun way to get the word out about my book and my upcoming published works, and help support my fellow writers?

Then, Beth Barany introduced the idea of a blog hop. As she describes it, “a sort of treasure hunt where you get to go from writer to writer,” reading about the things they treasure.

I want to give credit and applause where kudos are due to book coach and fantasy romance writer extrodinaire, Beth Barany. Her blog Writer’s Fun Zone is a fantastic place to discuss the topic of writing.  And her FREE magazine Author Entrepreneurship  is dedicated to helping authors build their businesses as well as strengthening their writing muscles.

Image thanks to google images – usage rights: free to use, share or modify, even commercially.

I also want to thank Carol Malone for inviting me to this Blog Hop. To visit Carol’s post on her writing process, click here or visit her blog at http://carolmalone.net/

In today’s post, we’re answering questions about our writing process. See what makes me tick as a writer:

1) What am I working on?

I recently signed Book Two of The Garnet Dagger series, Son of Dragons, with Crimson Romance. This is so new, I do not have a release date yet. Also, I plan to publish Cursed in Shadow Book 1.5, a novelette in this series and bridges what happens after Book One and before Book Two.

Also, I’m rewriting Book Three, War of Darkness, in this series and hope to have it completed and possibly published before the end of 2014.

Since Viking Fire, my historical romance, has had such positive feedback, I will be writing a sequel. This novel will feature Shay, Kaireen’s sister, and her love interest – yes, you guessed it, another Viking.

I’m also working on a YA Paranormal Romance.

Both of my ebooks are on sale for $1.99 at Amazon for the entire month – February 2014!

Here are a couple of reviews of my debut novel, The Garnet Dagger9781440565601

“The Garnet Dagger is an enthralling paranormal romance . . . The author does a masterful job of building her own unique world . . . The Garnet Dagger is an intriguing and thoroughly entertaining paranormal romance that is worth the read.” –The Lusty Penguin

“The Garnet Dagger was a well written story. The author Andrea R Cooper did fabulous world-building. The relationship depicted between the two main characters is flawless. And the description was very vivid. Highly recommended for all lovers of Paranormal romance.” –Paranormal Romance Reviews

2) How does my work differ from others of its genre?

Because The Garnet Dagger series  is first a fantasy, it differs from other paranormal romance in that setting is another world (similar to our own) and within a medieval period. Where dragons or new mythical creatures could be around the next bend.

Viking Fire Historical Romance

Viking Fire Historical Romance

As far as my historical romance, Viking Fire, it has a touch of magic. Many novels of this genre are straight historical fiction. I strove to write one as well without any fantasy or magic. However, one of my characters revealed her true nature to Kaireen, the heroine, at the same time she told me as I was writing the story. It was unplanned, but I love it nonetheless.

In my novels, I want emotion and plot to drive the story forward, rather than sex. However, when the characters jump into bed together, I do not shy away from them consummating their love once a commitment of some kind has been established. Even if I was never published, I would still write.

3) Why do I write what I do?

I have always loved fantasy and paranormal stories. Despite both being taboo in my parent’s house, I craved them. However, I didn’t read much of anything until my twenties when I stumbled upon Historical Romance. Once I moved out, I started reading fantasy novels and later found paranormal. Then I devoured books. Still, I can’t get enough of reading them, so now I write them too.

Also, I write because I have been a story-teller for as long as I can remember. I created characters and plot – even to the point of conspiring with kids at school to act out my stories. Since I no longer have a cast to play my novels, I write them instead.

4) How does my writing process work?

Funny, when I worked full-time, I had more opportunity to write. In fact, I wrote both of my current published novels then. I was able to take my two fifteen minute and lunch breaks and write. I never worried about writer’s block, because my day was filled with working as fast and diligently as I could so I would have the time to write the scenes playing over and over in my mind while I waited for my break.

Now, I am a stay-at-home mom to three kids: two of which are under the age of five. With marketing and supporting my fellow writers, I have little time left in the day for writing. However, stories and characters still tickle my imagination. Usually I write after all the kids are in bed and pray I’m not so wiped out from the day that I crash into bed myself. Setting a timer and telling myself to write for 20-30 mins has helped.

Now on to the next wonderful writers on this blog hop. Be sure to visit their sites and give them some love. Say hello, subscribe/follow/stalk, but get to know them and their books and find out why they write what they write. Their own “Writing Process” posts will be up soon where they will feature other writers:

liza hangliding tilted colorAuthor, Liza O’Connor

Website:   http://www.lizaoconnor.com/

Bio: Liza  lives  in  Denville,  NJ  with  her  dog  Jess. They hike in fabulous woods every day, rain orshine, sleet or snow. Having an adventurousnature, she learned to fly small Cessnas in NJ,hang-glide  in  New  Zealand,  kayak  inPennsylvania, ski in New York, scuba dive withgreat  white  sharks  in  Australia,  dig  updinosaur  bones  in  Montana,  sky  dive  inIndiana,  and  raft  a  class  four  river  inTasmania.  She’s  an  avid  gardener,  amateurphotographer, and dabbler in watercolors andgraphic arts.  Yet through her entire life,  herfirst  love  has  and  always  will  be  writingnovels.  She  loves  to  create  interestingcharacters,  set them loose,  and scribe whathappens.  Author  of  Saving  Casey,  GhostLover, and A Long Road to Love series: WorstWeek  Ever,  Oh  Stupid  Heart,  Coming  toReason, and coming in May:  Climbing Out ofHell.

GetAttachmentAuthor, T.F. Walsh
 
Website:  www.tfwalsh.com
 
Bio: T.F. Walsh emigrated from Romania to Australia at the age of eight and now lives in a regional city south of Sydney with her husband. Growing up hearing dark fairytales, she’s always had a passion for reading and writing horror, paranormal romance, urban fantasy and young adult stories. She balances all the dark with light fluffy stuff like baking and traveling.

She writes young adult and adult fantasy fiction.

CLOAKED IN FUR, a paranormal suspense novel, is her debut novel from Crimson Romance.

Please Leave a Reply

