July 4th The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

A big thank you to Joceline Farrah for inviting and tagging me in this Blog Hop.

1: What is the working title of your book(s)?

Son of Dragons
2: Where did the idea come from for the book?

This is the second book in The Garnet Dagger trilogy. I thought of The Garnet Dagger after watching Underworld at the movies. Through the movie, it showed what happened when a vampire and werewolf merged into a hybrid. So I started wondering what would happen if a vampire bite an Elvin?

Near writing the ending of The Garnet Dagger, I knew this was not the end of the story. I then wrote Son of Dragons which I am currently working on revisions.
3: What genre does your book come under?

Paranormal romance/ Fantasy
4: Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Brock (Elvin vampire) : Eduardo Verastegui
Celeste : Elisha Cuthbert
Landon(dragon heir) : William Levy
Mirhana : Olivia Wilde
Jeslyn : Denise Vasi

5: What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

The Garnet Dagger: Everyone knows what happens when a vampire bites a human…but what if the victim is Elvin?

Son of Dragons: How do you find a dragon when he’s a man and doesn’t know he’s a dragon?
6: Is your book self-published, published by an independent publisher, or represented by an agency?

The Garnet Dagger is published through Crimson Romance. I hope to have Son of Dragons published late this year.
7: How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

Son of Dragons, so far, has been the fastest book I’ve ever written. From start to finish it took me three and half months. Edits and revisions, however, have taken much longer 😉
8: What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

On a grandiose day, where I was feeling arrogant, I would compare my story with Anne Bishop’s Black Jewels, Kim Harrison’s Hallows’ series, and Yasmine Galenorn’s Indigo Court and Otherworld series. I’ve heard readers compare the first book, The Garnet Dagger, in my trilogy with Tolkien and George R.R. Martin
9: Who or what inspired you to write this book?

The movie Underworld inspired me to write this book. In addition, the House of Night series (yes, I know it’s YA, but I still am addicted), Terry Goodkind’s Sword of Truth series, Anne Bishop’s Black Jewels, Kim Harrison’s Hallows’ series, and my husband who introduced me to the world of fantasy in books.
10: What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

There are numerous mythical creatures from Elves, to Brock the vampire Elvin, dragons, assassins, undead creatures who are a type of zombie that can talk and be controlled through magic, magical creatures and love.

Snippet:

Chapter One

Call me cursed. For that is what I am. Yet because of a witch’s love, I’m also blessed. Despite draining a murderer in the last village with my power, hunger still tugs in me.

I ride behind Celeste, my witch, on her horse Shadowdancer. Even though he is the largest horse I have known, he acts more human than animal. Instinctively, he seems to sense when something is a danger, especially to Celeste. For that reason, he and I tolerate each other.

Through the human forest we maneuver closer the barrier to my Elvin home, Tamlon. A shudder passes through me as we move past a group of fallen logs. Nearly a year ago this was where the vampyre seized upon me. Cursed, for neither food nor drink filled me. My ancestry of Elvin and human tainted by a vampyre did not bring the hunger for blood, but for kajh, life essence.

Any humans from whom I drain their kajh, never sustain me for more than a day or two. Other races or magical creatures sate my hunger for weeks.

It’s only Celeste I am able to touch and not drain her into death.

Celeste. She was the witch the prophecies told me would be my redemption. Though at the time, I thought her death would not only bring my healing, but rid the poison that choked my people’s lands. The true meaning of the prophecy eluded me until after I chose not to harm her.

I thought I was to find the witch and kill her. You’d have believed the same, if you had read the words.

With the autumn leaves the dark one, Vaer, will come. Wolves voice his return. Judgment for any who harbor him.

A mixing of blood long ago shall return to birth this dark monster. Death comes with him. He brings the end of our time. Only the spilling of the witch’s blood will atone.

Even Nivel’s assistance to use the garnet jeweled dagger to find her, “pierce the witch’s heart and spill her blood” convinced me of my mission to kill.

 

Check out the next blog hop: http://wp.me/p2qOcp-5o from Joceline Farrah.

Please Leave a Reply

